Omurice

6 Jul

4 1/2 Stars! Try it!

Here’s a pretty well known fact about me.  I love Japan.  I love Japanese food.  There has rarely been a Japanese dish that I haven’t liked.  Omurice no exception.  Basically it’s a rice omelet and it’s HEAVENLY!  I first found the recipe on YouTube and now it’s a comfort food essential for me.  I always try to get my mom to try it but she’s a bit of a wimp when it comes to new foods so she won’t do it.  One of the great things about this meal is that it’s really easy.  I’ll post the video from YouTube, which teaches you how to make it, but I’ll list what I did differently right now.

This is how I make omurice:

1.  Fry the rice in Teriyaki sauce.

2.  Add canned chicken or tuna into the fried rice.

3.  Make the omelet.

4. Wrap the omelet and the rice up.

The original recipe calls for onion, sugar and consomme powder but I never use those.  Seriously though, try this recipe.  It’s filling and super satisfying.  You won’t regret it.

Here is the link to the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jx8YzNfTn7w

Leave a Reply

