Steamed Pork Buns- Nikuman

6 Jul

5 stars! You won’t regret making these.

 

Steamed Pork Buns.  Possibly one of the tastiest foods you’ll ever enjoy.  This is once again, a Japanese dish because I’ve been on a little Asian cuisine kick since I’m leaving for Asia the first week of August.  I can’t wait!  But, that’s beside the point.  When you’re making these buns it seems like they aren’t going to be very big, but once you steam them they grow quite a bit.  Mine didn’t turn out quite as beautiful as the ones in the original recipe post, but oh man…they tasted so good!

*IMPORTANT TIPS*

One thing I noticed when I was making the dough is that the recipe doesn’t use enough milk  so add milk as needed.  I’m not sure how much more I used but the recommended 2/3 cup milk is definitely not enough.

The hardest part about making these is getting the dough to stick together when you are wrapping everything up.  To help you do this, brushing the edges of the dough with a little bit of milk helps the buns stick together.

As a note, I used my rice cooker to steam these since it has a steamer setting on it and I don’t have an actual steamer.

 

Here is the original recipe:  http://www.lafujimama.com/2011/02/nikuman-japanese-pork-buns/

Leave a Reply

